Robertsbridge Community College

Governing Body

About our Governing Body

At Robertsbridge Community College the Governing Body has oversight of all aspects of the work of the college. The Governing Body consists of parents, staff and community members who give their time voluntarily in order to support the continuing improvement of the college.

Governance Structure at Robertsbridge Community College

Governing Body Constitution



Term Start

Term End

Local Authority

Kathy Robinson




Karen Marr







Jess Wilks

Co Vice-Chair






Jenny Barrett

Co Vice-Chair






Vanessa Everett







Stephen King






Keith May




Peter Davies




Mark Charlesworth



Ex Officio

Zak Vice








 About Our Governors

Karen MARR (Co-opted)
Chair of Governors 
Term of Office: 01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021

Karen is a director of a payroll and bookkeeping company, prior to this she was Financial Controller for a 154 bedroom hotel in London.

Karen manages advertising for her local village magazine and is treasurer of the local pre-school. Karen also sits on the Finance and Estates Committee, she is the Chair of the Local Governing Body at Jarvis Brook School.

She has a child at Robertsbridge Community College and is shareholder and director of Teckform.

Karen is a National Leader of Governance.

Vanessa EVERETT (Co-opted)
Chair of Finance and Estates Committee 
Term of Office: 05/02/2019 - 04/02/2023

After a Deputy Headship at Tonbridge Grammar School, Vanessa was, for 11 years, the Headteacher of large comprehensive school in Kent. In addition, she was an Executive Headteacher of a secondary school in Maidstone and an accredited School Improvement Partner supporting several secondary schools in Kent. 

Before Vanessa retired in 2011, she was one of two Headteachers leading Kent’s Aspiring Headteachers’ programme and the New Headteachers’ Induction programme. Since retirement, Vanessa has assisted several schools in the appointments of new Headteachers and the restructuring of senior teams.

She has lived in Brightling for 38 years and has three adult sons. Vanessa is Chair of the Finance and Estates Committee, she is also a trustee and governor at Vinehall School. Vanessa has responsibility for monitoring outcomes.

Kathy ROBINSON (Local Authority)
Term of Office: 14/12/2019 - 15/12/2023

Kathy began her career as a researcher (Psychology and Neuroscience) and then migrated to Education, firstly as a secondary school teacher (Computer Science, Psychology) and then in Higher Education (The Open University). Therefore, Kathy has taught across the age span 11-80. Working at the Open University meant that there was the opportunity to be involved in some pioneering initiatives in digital education that in turn led to a PhD in Educational Neuroscience (Institute of Education, London).

She has lived in the area for 35 years and is keen on walking, cycling and organic gardening.

Kathy shares responsibility for monitoring Teaching and Learning including disadvantaged students (Pupil Premium (PP) and Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) with Jess Wilks and Jenny Barrett.

Stephen KING (Co-opted)
Term of Office: 22/02/2020 - 23/02/2024

Stephen is Head of Training and Skills for a local enterprise company. Prior to this Stephen has held senior management positions in a range of Further Education Colleges and run his own business.

Stephen is Chair of Governors at St Thomas’ Church of England Aided Primary School, Winchelsea and Treasurer of the Friends of Winchelsea Church.

In his spare time Stephen enjoys swimming, watching rugby and walking his Cocker Spaniel along Winchelsea Beach.

Stephen is the governor responsible for Careers and for monitoring Behaviour.

Jess WILKS (Co-opted)
Co Vice-Chair
Term of Office: 16/05/2017- 05/05/2021

Jess manages projects within a large multi academy trust based in the south east working closely with schools to ensure compliance, helping with expansion projects and advising on legal process. She is currently project managing the building of a SEND free school within the Trust. Previously, Jess was Regional Governance Officer for Ark Schools in Hastings which involved overseeing all aspects of governance including; compliance, governor recruitment and developing effective governance practices. 

Jess is passionate about education and improving the life chances of all young people and has seen the impact that great teaching can have and strongly believes that governance is the cornerstone to support schools to develop happy, safe and fulfilled children. 

Jess shares responsibility for monitoring Teaching and Learning including disadvantaged students (Pupil Premium (PP) and Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)) with Jenny Barrett and Kathy Robinson. 

Keith MAY (Co-opted)
Term of Office: 05/11/2017 - 04/11/2021

Keith has been involved in educational governance for over 30 years.  As well as Robertsbridge, Keith is a Governor at a local Primary School and a National Leader of Governance. 

Keith is the governor responsible for Safeguarding, Health & Safety and Special Educational Needs & Disability (SEND).

Peter DAVIES (Co-opted)
Term of Office: 05/11/2017 - 04/11/2021

Peter was a diplomat for over 30 years learning Italian, Mandarin, Indonesian and Spanish in that time. He also spent some years working on terrorism issues, including PREVENT. He then worked as Security Director for Scottish Power in Glasgow before moving to Robertsbridge.

He has lived in Robertsbridge for five years and was part of the committee which wrote the Neighbourhood Plan for the village.

Peter is the governor responsible for Online Safety and shares responsibility for monitoring Leadership and Management with Karen Marr.

Jenny BARRETT (Parent Governor)
Co Vice-Chair

Term of Office: 17/11/2017 - 16/11/2021

Jenny is a marketing specialist working for the last 30 years predominantly in financial services and fintech.

 Very much village-focused, she has a life-long love of the arts in all its forms and is passionate about making it accessible to local audiences. She has spent time on the committee of the Robertsbridge Arts Partnership, helps to promote the Robertsbridge Jazz Club and is a member of Rococo, the Robertsbridge Community Choir.

In her spare time Jenny is part of Little Roc, an a cappella folk trio who weave close harmony with crystal clear unison to create a sound that is both rich and heartfelt with a touch of bluegrass.

Jenny shares responsibility for monitoring Teaching and Learning including disadvantaged students (Pupil Premium (PP) and Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) with Jess Wilks and Kathy Robinson.

Mark CHARLESWORTH (Parent Governor)

Term of Office: 21/04/2020 - 20/04/2023

Mark lives locally with his wife and children. He’s worked in IT for over 25 years and most recently as an IT Risk & Security Manager. He still enjoys computers in his spare time as well as trips to the theatre.

Mark has had previous experience as a Parent Governor at a local primary school. When Mark first visited RCC he was impressed with the community feel of the College, as well as the commitment to the Arts and the breadth of subjects available to students. This made him keen to become a Parent Governor, alongside Jenny Barrett, and use his skills to help with the continued development of this excellent school.

Governor Vacancies

Governor vacancies within the college are listed on this page when they become available. 

Job Description and Eligibility for College Governor

For further details please contact Karen Marr at: or read the article below.

Could you be a school Governor?

Contact Our Chair of Governors

If you would like to know more please contact Karen Marr at